Last Wednesday evening, 32 members of Newport & District Running Club lined up on the start line of the Vic Musgrove 5k, the fourth race in Telford AC’s Sexarathon series. This race takes place in Telford Town Park, and is one of the fastest 5k race routes in the country, thanks to the massive net downhill from start to finish. Runners start by Telford Hornets’ rugby pitches, heading towards the Town Park, before bearing right down the hill past Wonderland, and completing two laps of varying length around Randlay Pool (including part of the Silkin Way) before finishing by the amphitheatre at the north end of the Pool.

Team NDRC at the Vic Musgrove 5k.

NDRC’s leading runner was David Clarke, who finished 47th overall in a time of 17 minutes, 46 seconds. In 78th place, Matthew Walley was next, clocking a finishing time of 18:52, before Oscar Johnstone broke the 20-minute marker with his time of 19:50 in 108th position. Richard Bennett was hot on his heels, taking 116th place with his time of 20:04, followed by Andrew Wilmot, who was 127th in 20:25. Elizabeth Bennett was Newport’s leading female, taking 131st place with her time of 20:32, closely followed by Phil Dolding, who clocked 20:50 to take 137th place.

Junior runner Alex Cochrane ran a time of 21:26 to finish 144th, just within sight of Simon Yap, who finished in exactly 22 minutes to take 166th spot. 168    David Brown (168th) and Emily Pope (170th) both ran exactly the same time (22:15), whilst Graham Rogers finished in 22:33 to take 180th position. In 186th place was Phil Link, with his time of 22:40, just ahead of Pete Johnstone, who was 190th in 22:46. 193    Oliver Stokes just dipped under 23 minutes, his time of 22:59 securing 193rd place, and not too far behind was Amy Hughes, who finished 210th in 23:22.

Aaron Nicholas ran a time of 23:54 to take 219th place, not far ahead of John Metzger, who was 223rd overall in 24:08. Nigel Ingram took 252nd position in 25:12, whilst Ralph Humphries clocked 25:25 to finish 256th. Ben Roper finished with a time of 26:38 to take 288th place, whilst Marc Taylor took 301st place in 27:20 and Louise Patterson was 318th in 28:19. 321 Mark McEvilly stopped the clock at 28:28 for 321st place, whilst 341 Wendy Tonge was 341st in 29:38.

Anne Strowger (346th) and Bernie Holbrook (347th) both finished together in 29:50, a time which bagged Anne first place in her category.Elizabeth McEvilly (349th, 30:12) and Martin Murdoch (351st, 30:18) finished close together, whilst John Stokes finished 377th in 33:10, and Lisa Yap was 386th with her time of 36:01.