The Phoenix Flyer is the second race in Telford AC’s “Sexarathon” series, and as always, Newport & District Running Club were well represented this year. The Phoenix Flyer is a 5k race which takes place in Dawley, and features 3 undulating laps of the town centre, with the race HQ at the Langley School. This year, the weather decided to throw in an added factor, with rain falling for most of the evening.

Team NDRC (with special guest!) at the Phoenix Flyer

In 48th place, David Clarke was the first Newport runner to finish, clocking a time of 18 minutes, 1 second. He was followed by Ashley Moore in 81st place with a time of 19:13. Andrew Wilmot was next, taking 123d position with ihs time of 20:47, and not far behind him was Richard Bennett, 128th in 20:58. Elizabeth Bennett was NDRC’s first female finisher in 21:32, bagging 140th overall.

David Clarke

Simon Yap took 176th place with a time of 22:47, followed by Aaron Nicholas in 183rd with his time of 23:01, and then came the close-finishing trio of Tom Pope (189th) in 23:06, Emily Pope (191st) in 23:08 and Peter Johnstone (193rd) in 23:09. Kirsty Greenhead ran a time of 23:21 to finish 203rd, just in front of Graham Rogers, who was 208th in 23:31. Oliver Stokes took 218th with his time of 23:57, whilst Amy Hughes was 225th in a time of 24:08.

(Left to right): Pete Johnstone, Emily Pope and Tom Pope in green Newport tops

John Metzger was 235th in a time of 24:30, not far in front of Nigel Ingram, whose time of 24:44 took him to 240th place. Marc Taylor followed Nigel closely home, clocking a time of 24:50 in 242nd position. Carrie Stokes was 261st in 25:24, followed by Philip Link, who finished 268th in a time of 25:40, and Simon Taylor, who ran a time of 26:10 for 284th place. Ralph Humphries was just 1 second further back, his time of 26:11 taking 285th place, whilst Selwyn Plant finished 302nd in 26:46.

Liz Holbrook (311), Wendy Tonge (307) and Sue Wylie (432)

Bernie Holbrook finished in 27:00 to take 306th place, whilst Ben Roper was 320nd in 27:43, just ahead of Louise Patterson, who was 323rd in 27:49. Mark McEvilly followed Louise home in 27:50 to take 325th place, whilst Elizabeth McEvilly was 362nd in 29:31, followed by Liz Holbrook, who was 365th in 29:45. Sharon Goulson took 373rd position in 30:16, then Phil Dolding was 381st in 30:42, followed by Sue Wylie who ran a time of 30:55 for 384th. Wendy Tonge and Anne Strowger were 386th and 387th as they finished together in 31:00, whilst Martin Murdoch finished in 31:48 for 394th place. Lisa Yap took 405th in 33:01, and John Stokes was 418th in 35:22.

Ralph Humphries (376) and Selwyn Plant (foreground)

All images courtesy of Nick Wylie. Find Nick’s full album here.