On Wednesday, Telford AC hosted the third race in their Sexarathon series, the Shropshire 4-miler. This evening race takes place over 2 and a half laps of Granville Country Park, near Muxton and Donnington Wood in Telford. As ever in this series, there was a fantastic turnout of Novaportan runners, decorating the field with nearly 40 green and purple running tops.

Team NDRC at the Shropshire 4

In 44th place overall, David Clarke was the first Newport runner to finish, clocking a time of 24 minutes, 13 seconds. Not far behind was Ashley Moore in 51st position, recording a time of 24:49. Tom Pope made it into the top 100, his time of 27:11 securing 98th place, whilst Elizabeth Bennett was 107th in a time of 27:29. 116    Andrew Wilmot was 116th in 27:49, just in front of Richard Bennett, who clocked 27:51 to finish 119th. In 128th place, David Brown ran a time of 28:42, before Alex Cochrane (139th) and Phil Dolding (140th) both finished in 29:27.

Daniel Miles finished in 145th with a time of 29:44, just ahead of Aaron Nicholas, who was 147th in 29:50. Simon Yap was next, 150th in 30:05, with Pete Johnstone taking 160th position with a time of 30:41. Oliver Stokes was next, 162nd in 30:48, just ahead of Emily Pope, who was 163rd with her time of 30:50. Philip Link was next, 169th overall in a time of 31:06, and then it was Kirsty Greenhead, whose time of 31:24 secured 176th place. Graham Rogers took 178th position in 31:29, followed by Amy Hughes, who ran 32:12 to finish 193rd. 

Nigel Ingram took 223rd place in 34:06, closely followed by John Metzger, who ran a time of 34:13 for 225th. Simon Taylor, in 249th with his time of 35:25, finished just in front of Selwyn Plant, who was 1 place back in 35:28. Marc Taylor was 257th in a time of 35:50, whilst Ben Roper was 264th in 36:16. Ralph Humphries finished 271st in 36:35, followed by Annabel Bolton, who was 276th in 36:48. Mark McEvilly ran a time of 38:58 for 307th place, whilst Elizabeth McEvilly was 314th in 39:33.

Anne Strowger (left) collects her prize for winning her category from Claire Martin of Telford AC

Anne Strowger won her category with 334th position overall in a time of 40:52, followed by Wendy Tonge who was 337th in 41:15. Nick Wylie made his return to racing with 339th place in a time of 41:40, closely followed by Sue Wylie, who was 345th in her time of 41:52. Sharon Goulson matched Sue’s time to finish 347th, just ahead of Tracy Hartridge who was 348th and 1 second back. Liz Holbrook was 353rd in 42:30, followed by Martin Murdoch, who ran a time of 43:24 for 359th place, and Lisa Yap, who finished 361st in 44:16.